Executive Board

The Women of the ELCA 21-member churchwide executive board is elected every three years or at the following convention.

The convention is made up of voting members from our 64 WELCA synodical women’s organizations plus the members of the churchwide executive board. The triennial convention is the highest legislative authority in our organization.

Because of the pandemic, the convention was unable to meet in July 2020, and the current board agreed to sit another year–until a likely virtual convention in August 2021.

Between conventions, the executive board functions as the board of directors for the organization and the interim legislative authority. The primary role of the board is to steer the organization in the right direction, helping it meet its mission. The board has an oversight role, monitoring the activities of the organization and ensuring that the organization is well-equipped to fulfill its mission. It establishes broad policies to guide and protect the organization. It monitors legal requirements. It receives regular reports from staff.

Lisa Plorin, l-r, Becky Shurson, Freddie Jordan, Anna Sarver

The board for the 2017-2020 triennium was elected at the Tenth Triennial Convention held July 11-13, 2017, in Minneapolis, Minn. Lisa Plorin of Upham, N.D., is serving as executive board president. Other board officers include Becky Shurson, vice president, Eugene, Oregon; Freddie Jordan, secretary, Columbus, Ohio, and Anna Sarver, treasurer, Greensburg, Penn.

Executive Board: 2017–2021

Board members may be contacted by sending a message to our office.


Lisa Plorin, president
Upham, North Dakota
Western North Dakota Synod (3A)

Becky Shurson, vice president
Eugene, Oregon
Oregon Synod (1E)

Freddie Jordan, secretary
Columbus, Ohio
Southern Ohio Synod (6F)

Anna Sarver, treasurer
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Southwestern Pennsylvania Synod (8B)

Angela Bell
Palos Heights, Illinois
Metro Chicago Synod (5A)

Elizabeth Burgess
Augusta, Maine
New England Synod (7B)

Lois Bylund
Moorhead, Minnesota
Northwestern Minnesota Synod (3D)

Raeann Purcell
Deland, Florida
Florida-Bahamas Synod (9E)

Lydia Davila
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Caribbean Synod (9F)

Dinah Dutta
Lawrence, Kansas
Central States (4B)

Sandra Grier
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Upper Susquehanna Synod (8E)

Laura Krueger
Avondale, Arizona
Grand Canyon Synod (2D)

Sara Larson
Balaton, Minnesota
Southwestern Minnesota Synod (3F)

Joy Michalicek
Duluth, Minnesota
Northeastern Minnesota Synod (3E)

Kandy Pflaster
Cozad, Nebraska
Nebraska Synod (4A)

Viviane Thomas-Breitfeld
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Greater Milwaukee Synod (5J)

Lynette Todd
Baltimore, Maryland
Delaware/Maryland Synod (8F)

Barbara Thistle
Greenwich, Connecticut
Metropolitan New York Synod (7C)

Karen Voris
Anchorage, Alaska
Alaska Synod (1A)

Dawn Wicklund
Superior, Wisconsin
Northwest Synod of Wisconsin (5H)